Search the web’s LARGEST COLLECTION of teacher eBooks!

Your Search Terms


Clear All

Narrow Your Results

Touching Spirit Bear

By Ben Mikaelsen (2)

Show/Hide Info

Cole Matthews, the young protagonist of Ben Mikaelsen’s Touching Spirit Bear, has a history of aggression. One day, Cole robs a hardware store, and later beats and severely injures Peter, the boy who reports the crime. A Native American Justice Circle gives Cole the opportunity of redemption, by embarking on a healing period in isolation. Cole is banished for a year to a remote Alaskan island, finding a sponsor in his probation officer, Garvey, who wants to give Cole another chance. On the island, Cole has a rough shelter and some supplies, but he must manage on his own. Instead of embracing the opportunity to atone for his past mistakes, Cole becomes bent on self-destruction, setting fire to his shelter. He attempts to attack the white Spirit Bear, and suffers a mauling courtesy of the magnificent beast, nearly dying. However, Cole is rescued, and slowly recovers back home, after which he begs for another chance on the island. This time, Cole takes to heart and begins to accept the wisdom he has been offered, and he starts to take responsibility for his actions. The healing circle is complete when Cole persuades Peter to come to the island, and enact his own catharsis. Mikaelsen's gripping story of survival and redemption is well plotted, with rich character depth, and is geared towards readers ages 10 and up.

  • Sort By:

  • Study Guide: Touching Spirit Bear (eBook) cover

    Study Guide: Touching Spirit Bear (eBook)

    Learning Links/Novel-Ties
    25 Pages, Grades 5 - 9
    Was: $16.95 (USD)
    Now: $16.10  Add to cart


    Study Guide: Touching Spirit Bear (eBook)

    Specifically created for younger students in elementary school, Learning Links Novel-Ties are built to assist teachers in nurturing new readers. Reproducible chapter-by-chapter exercises and worksheets help to increase students' competency in reading with the goal of inspiring a further love of reading. A story synopsis and worksheet answer key is supplied. Novel-Ties guides are a venerable supplementary resource for both guided and differentiated reading.This eBook is an entry in the Novel-Ties Literature Guides series for Grade 4, consisting of the following additional titles: The Cay; Charlotte's Web; Fantastic Mr. Fox; The Great Brain; The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe; Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes; The Witch of Fourth Street; Charlie and the Chocolate Factory; Dear Mr. Henshaw; The Enormous Egg; The Midnight Fox; James and the Giant Peach; The Cricket in Times Square; Sarah, Plain and Tall; Superfudge; Mr. Popper's Penguins; Stone Fox; Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key; Skinnybones; Because of Winn-Dixie; Bunnicula; Journey to Jo'burg; Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing; Shiloh; The BFG; Fudge-A-Mania; The Gold Cadillac; Chocolate Fever; A Long Way from Chicago; Poppy; The Best Christmas Pageant Ever; Frindle; There's A Boy in the Girl's Bathroom; The Tale of Despereaux; Loser; Touching Spirit Bear; The Penderwicks; The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane; Turtle in Paradise. All preceding Novel-Ties eBooks can be observed by clicking on the 'View All In Series' button to the left.

  • Teaching Unit: Touching Spirit Bear (eBook) cover

    Teaching Unit: Touching Spirit Bear (eBook)

    Prestwick House
    97 Pages, Grades 7 - 12
    Was: $29.99 (USD)
    Now: $28.49  Add to cart


    Teaching Unit: Touching Spirit Bear (eBook)

    For either the new or experienced teacher, Prestwick House's Teaching Units serve as a useful resource for teaching a new book, with a broad selection of eBook guides available for immediate download. Chapter-by-chapter exercises help students achieve scholarly objectives with essay and discussion questions, vocabulary lists, and a multiple-choice test. Educators will save time and energy with this indispensible teaching resource.This eBook is an entry in the Prestwick House Teaching Units series. Other best-selling titles include: The Lottery; Life of Pi; The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time; A Thousand Splendid Suns; The Outsiders; The Gift of the Magi; I Know What You Did Last Summer, and many more. The aforementioned best-selling eBook guides for teaching, as well as the rest of the series, can be accessed by clicking on the 'View All In Series' button to the left.