Search the web’s LARGEST COLLECTION of teacher eBooks!

Narrow Your Results

The Westing Game

By Ellen Raskin (2)

Show/Hide Info

The Westing Game, since its publication in 1978, has remained a children’s classic, a favorite enigma and puzzler, well worthy of its Newbery Medal. Ellen Raskin has crafted a tale whose twists and turns will perplex readers, and whose starkly real and honest characters will enthrall any newcomer to the “game”. A whole slew of characters have just moved into Sunset Towers, all from various walks of life, and they initially appear to have little more than an address in common. Neighboring Sunset Towers is the Westing estate, home to the wealthy Samuel W. Westing, who, in a shocking turn of events, is discovered dead one morning. His mysterious will draws the tenants into one large gathering, where they discover one of them will be the heir to the Westing fortune – whomever discovers Westing’s murderer. The tenants are matched up in a dictated, seemingly mismatched order, and the eight teams of two are given a set of clues to decipher and a sly entreaty to play the “Westing Game”. Under subterfuge, the players brave a blizzard, attempt to figure out who is burglarizing the apartments, and dodge homemade bombs, all the while learning more about themselves and each other. Raskin is remarkable in her stunning portrayal of 16 vibrant characters, all of whom step off the page in distinct and vibrant color, and for her dizzying world of mystery, which will have readers guessing right up to the very end. The Westing Game is undoubtedly a must-read for every generation.

  • Sort By:

  • Study Guide: The Westing Game (eBook) cover

    Study Guide: The Westing Game (eBook)

    Learning Links/Novel-Ties
    29 Pages, Grades 5 - 9
    Was: $16.95 (USD)
    Now: $16.10  Add to cart


    Study Guide: The Westing Game (eBook)

    Expressly created for middle school students, this Learning Links Novel-Ties guide will aid students by training them for more complex reading in the future. Chapter-by-chapter pre- and post-reading activities and worksheets allow students to become comfortable with the majority of literary devices, instilling a greater understanding and appreciation for literature. A novel synopsis and worksheet answer key is provided for educators. Novel-Ties guides are a notable supplementary resource for both guided and differentiated reading.This eBook is an entry in the Novel-Ties Literature Guides series for Grade 6, comprised of the following additional titles: Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH; Old Yeller; The Westing Game; The Witch of Blackbird Pond; Jacob Have I Loved; The Secret Garden; Gentlehands; Nothing But the Truth; Freak, the Mighty; The Giver; Wringer; Holes; Hatchet; Number the Stars; The Egypt Game; The Devil's Arithmetic; Maniac Magee; Brian's Winter; The House of Dies Drear; Hoot; Walk Two Moons; The View from Saturday; The Watsons Go To Birmingham - 1963; Out of the Dust; Parrot in the Oven; Jason's Gold; Chasing Vermeer; The City of Ember; When My Name Was Keoko; Flush; The Graveyard Book; Small Steps; The Mysterious Benedict Society; When You Reach Me; The Hunger Games; Moon Over Manifest; Scat. All aforementioned Novel-Ties eBooks can be observed by clicking on the 'View All In Series' button to the left.

  • The Westing Game: End-of-Book Test (Standards Based) (eBook) cover

    The Westing Game: End-of-Book Test (Standards Based) (eBook)

    Novel Units
    8 Pages, Grades 7 - 8
    Was: $9.99 (USD)
    Now: $9.49  Add to cart


    The Westing Game: End-of-Book Test (Standards Based) (eBook)

    From Novel Units, the venerable Standards Based End-of-Book Test comes ready to use in a few steps: all you have to do is download, print, and test! Educators will enjoy the inexpensive series that saves both time and energy by including a teacher guide and answer key. Students will take away a higher level of analytical competency and critical reading skills by coalescing state test preparation with quality literature, preparing students for items that they may experience on future exams.This End-of-Book Test eBook is an entry in the Novel Units series for Grades 7-8, comprised of some of the following titles: Freak the Mighty; Hatchet; The Boy in the Striped Pajamas; The Westing Game; So B. It; Code Orange; Hush; Son of the Mob, and many more. All aforementioned eBooks, as well as the rest of the series, can be found by clicking on the 'View All In Series' button located to the left. The Terms of Use Agreement for this digital product is as follows: Single-Use Classroom license allows a maximum of 30 copies of this digital student test per purchase. The included Teacher Guide is non-reproducible.