Welcome to DedicatedTeacher.com... where you receive an automatic 5% of the retail price!

Click here to see what's on Sale this Week!

Search the web’s LARGEST COLLECTION of teacher eBooks!

Your Search Terms


Clear All

Narrow Your Results

The Book Thief

By Markus Zusak (2)

Show/Hide Info

In Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief, Death narrates the story of Liesel Meminger, a young German girl growing up in foster care during World War II. On the day her brother dies of tuberculosis, Liesel finds a copy of The Grave Digger’s Handbook, and is fascinated by its contents. The Holocaust has thrown Europe into desolation, to the point that even Death is horrified at the increased breadth of his job. During these tumultuous and hungry years, Liesel and her friend Rudy must resort to stealing food, though Liesel undoubtedly values her books over meals. Meanwhile, the young book thief befriends the mayor’s grieving wife, Illsa Hermann, and their clandestine friendship grows stronger over the course of the war, as Liesel pretends to follow the rules imposed on the townspeople, while secretly rebelling. Later, Liesel’s compassionate foster father takes in a young Jewish refugee, Max Vandenburg, who eventually survives a concentration camp, while the family who sheltered him dies in a bombing. Liesel, the sole survivor of the bombing, ends up in the care of Illsa. Throughout the novel, Liesel deals with the complexity of the written word, how language can be at once beautiful and horrifyingly destructive in its manipulative power, and she ends up writing her own story in retaliation. Readers will be riveted by Zusak’s complex portrait of a compassionate German who bravely defied and resisted the Nazis, a portrait made all the more moving by the supporting characters that layer The Book Thief.

  • Sort By:

  • Student Workbook/Study Guide: The Book Thief (eBook) cover

    Student Workbook/Study Guide: The Book Thief (eBook)

    BMI Educational Services
    202 Pages, Grades 7 - 12
    Was: $16.95 (USD)
    Now: $16.10  Add to cart


    Student Workbook/Study Guide: The Book Thief (eBook)

    This Student Workbook/Study Guide consists of a variety of reproducible literary activities, such as vocabulary games and worksheets, in anticipation of state standardized tests. This collection of exercises will help amplify students’ analytical aptitude and critical thinking skills, and are easily incorporated into your pre-existing lesson plans.This eBook is an entry in the BMI Level 3 Literature Guides series, comprised of the following titles: The Great Gatsby; Of Mice and Men; Speak; Tears of a Tiger; To Kill a Mockingbird; Anne Frank’s The Diary of a Young Girl; The Book Thief; The Pearl; Sunrise Over Fallujah; The Crucible; Hoops; Stargirl; Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night; Hunger Games; I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings; Miracle Boys; Kite Runner. All aforementioned eBook Literature Guides can be viewed by clicking on the ‘View All In Series’ button to the left.

  • Study Guide: The Book Thief (eBook) cover

    Study Guide: The Book Thief (eBook)

    Learning Links/Novel-Ties
    40 Pages, Grades 6 - 12
    Was: $16.95 (USD)
    Now: $16.10  Add to cart


    Study Guide: The Book Thief (eBook)

    This Learning Links Novel-Ties guide is specifically designed to benefit higher level students and build a strong foundation for reading after high school. Included are several varieties of reproducible exercises, including chapter-by-chapter pre- and post-reading activities, graphic organizers, and comprehension questions to help students analyze complex texts. For educators, a novel synopsis and answer key for the worksheets are included. Novel-Ties guides are an exemplary supplemental resource for guided or differentiated reading.This eBook is an entry in the Novel-Ties Literature Guides series for Grades 9-12, consisting of the following additional titles: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn; All Quiet On the Western Front; The Catcher in the Rye; Fahrenheit 451; The Great Gatsby; Lord of the Flies; Night; Of Mice and Men; A Raisin in the Sun; A Separate Peace; To Kill a Mockingbird; Flowers for Algernon; One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest; A Midsummer Night's Dream; The Book Thief; The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing; Ender's Game. All foregoing Novel-Ties eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the 'View All In Series' button to the left.