Search the web’s LARGEST COLLECTION of teacher eBooks!

Your Search Terms


Clear All

Narrow Your Results

Summer of the Monkeys

By Wilson Rawls (2)

Show/Hide Info

From Wilson Rawls, author of the beloved Where the Red Fern Grows, comes Summer of the Monkeys, another insightful children’s novel. Due to his family’s monetary hardships, Jay Berry Lee, a fourteen-year-old, bemoans his chances to obtain a pony and gun, while the family struggles to find the money to afford an operation for Daisy, Jay’s twin sister, to straighten her debilitated leg. When Jay’s grandfather informs the young boy that a circus has lost their prized chimpanzee and thirty monkeys, Jay is eager to recapture them, especially with the carrot of a sizable reward for their safe return. Jay attempts to outsmart the ingenious chimpanzee, named Jimbo, who corrals the young monkeys, keeping them one step ahead of the young boy, and in response, Jay’s schemes grow larger and larger in proportion. As Jay continues working towards capturing the wayward circus animals to achieve a large financial gain, he begins to revaluate what is important in his life, and who might be the best recipient of any reward money. Heartwarming and endearing, young readers will enjoy the animals’ mischievous antics, while appreciating the satisfying ending. Appropriate for ages 10 and up.

  • Sort By:

  • Study Guide: Summer of the Monkeys (eBook) cover

    Study Guide: Summer of the Monkeys (eBook)

    Learning Links/Novel-Ties
    26 Pages, Grades 5 - 8
    Was: $16.95 (USD)
    Now: $16.10  Add to cart


    Study Guide: Summer of the Monkeys (eBook)

    Created to benefit newer middle school students with a greater understanding and appreciation for literature, this Learning Links Novel-Ties guide will encourage and train students for more complex reading in the future. Pre- and post-reading activities and worksheets are supplied on a chapter-by-chapter basis, which allows students to become comfortable with the majority of literary devices. A story synopsis and worksheet answer key is provided for educators. Novel-Ties guides are a reputable supplementary resource for both guided and differentiated reading.This eBook is an entry in the Novel-Ties Literature Guides series for Grade 5, constituted of the following additional titles: Bridge to Terabithia; Island of the Blue Dolphins; My Side of the Mountain; The Pinballs; Tuck Everlasting; Sign of the Beaver; The Phantom Tollbooth; From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler; The Fighting Ground; Matilda; The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle; In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson; Lily's Crossing; The Borrowers; The Whipping Boy; Toliver's Secret; Bloomability; On My Honor; Summer of the Monkeys; Among The Hidden; Castle in the Attic; The Wanderer; Call It Courage; Amos Fortune, Free Man; Crash; Becoming Naomi Leon; Bud, Not Buddy; Seedfolks; Esperanza Rising; George Washington's Socks; Crispin: The Cross of Lead; Among the Imposters; Fever 1793; Pictures of Hollis Woods; Surviving the Applewhites; Al Capone Does My Shirts; Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!; The Boy in the Striped Pajamas; Three Cups of Tea; Elijah of Buxton; Marley, A Dog Like No Other; Rules. All precursory Novel-Ties eBooks can be found by clicking on the 'View All In Series' button to the left.

  • Summer of the Monkeys: End-of-Book Test (Standards Based) (eBook) cover

    Summer of the Monkeys: End-of-Book Test (Standards Based) ...

    Novel Units
    8 Pages, Grades 5 - 6
    Was: $9.99 (USD)
    Now: $9.49  Add to cart


    Summer of the Monkeys: End-of-Book Test (Standards Based) (eBook)

    This Standards Based End-of-Book Test will engage students and reinforce their competency in analyzing text and critical thinking. Exam creation is nearly instantaneous - simply download, print, and test! Students will be benefitted by the integration of state test preparation with quality literature. In addition to saving time, energy and sanity, a teacher guide with answer key is provided, ensuring a straightforward teaching experience free of hassle. Educators will be thrilled by this reputable and inexpensive series from Novel Units!This End-of-Book Test eBook is an entry in the Novel Units series for Grades 5-6, comprised of some of the following titles: The City of Ember; The Devil's Arithmetic; Poppy; A Family Apart; The Lightning Thief; The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle; Pictures of Hollis Woods; Crash, and many more. All aforementioned eBooks, as well as the rest of the series, can be found by clicking on the 'View All In Series' button located to the left. Please note that the Terms of Use Agreement for Single-Use Classroom license allows a maximum of 30 copies of this student test per purchase download. The included Teacher Guide is non-reproducible.